13. April – 03. November 2019

The exhibition FUZZY DARK SPOT at the Falckenberg Collection will bring together 56 video works by over 30 mostly Hamburg-based artists ranging from the 1970s to the present day, featuring historical and contemporary productions in both thematic and monographic groups. The exhibition examines how video in art interprets social and media irritations and manipulations. The title FUZZY DARK SPOT comes from a discussion in an internet forum about camera lenses contaminated with mold.

The fields of this investigation include references in video art to television, the educational movement of the counter-public of the 1970s, as well as the use of video as a surveillance medium, a means of artistic narrative, a psychosocial mirror, and an instrument of self-optimization in the digital present. The major impact of video images on the collective memory and consciousness in the 20th and 21st centuries makes doubts about images, the uneasiness with the familiar, as well as the distrust of truth claims important subjects of artistic reflection. The title summarizes the common theme of the works in the exhibition: a nebulous, fuzzy dark spot, place, or condition.
The exhibition, curated by the Hamburg-based video artist Wolfgang Oelze, is programmatically linked to the exhibitions Weisser Schimmel (2010) and Captain Pamphile (2011), which offered a look at the diverse works of artists in Hamburg within the Falckenberg Collection with specific curatorial concepts.

Participating artists: Vito Acconci, Gabor Altorjay, John Bock, Claus Böhmler, Öyvind Fahlström, Harun Farocki, Jeanne Faust, Lee Friedlander, Gintersdorfer/Klaßen, Rosanna Graf, Britta Gröne/Peter Piller, Romeo Grünfelder, Christian Jankowski, Volko Kamensky, Naho Kawabe, Mike Kelley, Jon Kessler, Nina Könnemann, Rainer Korsen/Gerd Roscher, Till Krause, Vlado Kristl, Lene Markusen, Paul McCarthy, Aurelia Mihai, Ernst Mitzka, Vanessa Nica Mueller, Karina Nimmerfall, Wolfgang Oelze, Tony Oursler, Nam June Paik, Stefan Panhans, Rotraut Pape/Raskin, reproducts, Oliver Ross, Gerhard Rühm, Swen Erik Scheuerling, Corinna Schnitt, Paul Spengemann, Hans Stützer, Mike Mandel/Larry Sultan, Inga Svala Thorsdottir, Helena Wittmann und Steffen Zillig.