32nd Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg Working Scholarship for the Visual Arts

09. March – 31. March 2013

Each year, the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg’s Cultural Office awards ten working scholarships to visual artists, with the lucky few each receiving a bursary of 820 euros a month. The scholarship can only be awarded to professional artists from the broad field of the visual arts who are domiciled in Hamburg and excludes students. The scholarship program is absolutely unique in Germany and has been in existence since 1981. A large number of nationally and internationally renowned artists are among the former scholarship holders, including Stephan Balkenhol, Mariella Mosler, Bernhard Prinz, Christoph Schäfer and Jeanne Faust.

In 2012, the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg’s Cultural Office again chose ten visual artists as recipients of the working scholarships. The winners this year are:

Adrian Alecu
Carl Groß
Simon Hempel
Burk Koller
Axel Loytved
Stefan Marx
Regine Petersen
Grit Richter
Paul Sochacki
Lily Lea Wittenburg

For the first time, the ten were selected via a two-stage jurying process involving two specialist juries. In a first step, a seven-member specialist jury sifted through the total of 176 applications filed and compiled a short list of 23 applicants, one work from each of them then being exhibited at Kunsthaus. A five-member jury then chose ten artists from among the 23 as the winners of the working scholarships.

At the end of every scholarship year a selection of new works by the current scholarship holders goes on public display. And on the occasion of the exhibition a catalog is published with contributions by all ten stipend holders (in an edition of 300, this year with texts by Britta Peters).

This year, the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg’s Cultural Office approached Sammlung Falckenberg/Deichtorhallen Hamburg and expressed the wish that the concluding exhibition (in the past regularly held at the Kunsthaus) be held at Sammlung Falckenberg, where it will be curated by Miriam Schoofs.

From now on, the exhibition of works by the scholarship winners will rotate, meaning that each year a different Hamburg institution will host it.

The choice this year was Sammlung Falckenberg, principally as some of the current scholarship holders cited the venue when asked where they would like to exhibit in Hamburg. Secondly, the idea is to strengthen Hamburg’s Harburg district and create a stronger public awareness of Sammlung Falckenberg as the third Deichtorhallen Hamburg exhibition facility – catering to the local young contemporary art scene, too.


Friday, March 8, 2013 at 7 pm. Welcoming speeches will be held by Prof. Barbara Kisseler, Kultursenatorin, Prof. Dr. Harald Falckenberg.


Saturday, March 9, 2013 from 1 – 6 pm
Saturday, March 30, 2013 from 1 – 6 pm
Special entrance fee: 5 Euro/Person

GUIDED TOURS (in German language only)

Saturday, March 16, 2013 from 1 – 2.30 pm
Sunday, March 24, 2013 from 1 – 2.30 pm
Special entrance fee including tour: 5 Euro/Person
Book your tour here: diesem Link.

Sponsored by the the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg’s Cultural Office